End of season get away

Last week I had a fun helping  run the trials for next years Artemis Offshore Academy. Not only was it fun to have a hand in waking the contestants in the middle of the night and making them abandon ship into a life raft but I was also keen to get a look at some of the people who will be joining me this winter for more Figaro training in La Grande Motte. It was an enjoyable experience but mostly I found it frustrating not being able to swing around in the trees or race around the course one or two up; I even felt like I would have liked a go at the fitness tests.

Straight after this I flew out to Bermuda where I am racing in the Gold Cup with Team Wight Match skippered by Sam Pearson. I’ve sailed with these boys a few times this year on the Class 40 Concise 2 and when their regular bowman pulled out I was only too happy to say yes. This is an event I’ve thought about doing myself a few times but always put off due to the cost of flights and the high chance of getting knocked out after 7 short races.  Being on the bow will be a new experience for me as will racing these ancient wooden IODs against the worlds best match racers.

The actions starts tomorrow with our first race against match race legend and world tour president, Peter Gillmore. Along side him rest of our group is by no means easy, but if we can win more than half of our races in the next two day and move on to the next round we will be over the moon. This not only relies on us sailing well but also managing not come off of hired scooters on the 30 minute ride to and from the yacht club!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

